

Your Lifelong Financial Partner

NorState FCU Awards Six \$1,000 Scholarships

AROOSTOOK COUNTY – NorState Federal Credit Union recently awarded six \$1,000.00 Scholarships to graduating seniors who had applied by the May 2018 deadline.

As part of the application process, high school applicants had to attend an Aroostook or Northern Penobscot County school; plan to enroll in a two-year or four-year college or university and be an active NorState FCU member or have parent(s) or guardian(s) who were active members of the credit union. Along with a short essay, applicants needed to list any or all community service projects they had contributed to or volunteered for.

"We put emphasis on volunteerism when considering applications for our scholarship awards. NorState's philosophy of People-Helping-People defines who we are as an organization and as employees, stated Susan G. Whitehead, CEO and President of NorState FCU.

We encourage our employees and their families to give back to the communities in which they serve and/or live; so it's not unusual for the credit union to encourage its youth members to do the same."

NorState is proud to announce their 2018 scholarship winners: Micayla Driscoll from Ashland, Otis Nelson from Portage, Olivia Gervais from Frenchville, Isaac Robichaud from Fort Kent, Mason Moro from Ashland and Samuel Swope from Eagle Lake. Congratulations to all six NorState FCU 2018 Scholarship winners.

For more information about the credit union and any of its products, services for young adults, families and seniors, visit us at www.norstatefcu.org or stop by any of their 6 locations in Aroostook County.



NorState FCU awards \$6,000 in scholarships - Students from Aroostook County and Northern Penobscot High Schools were invited to apply for one of six NorState Federal Credit Union Scholarships. Pictured is one of the scholars, Olivia Gervais of Frenchville and a graduate of Wisdom High School in St. Agatha is pictured receive her scholarship award from NorState's Executive Vice President Nancy Cyr. Other \$1000 scholarship recipients were Micayla Driscoll from Ashland, Otis Nelson from Portage, Isaac Robichaud from Fort Kent, Mason Moro from Ashland and Samuel Swope from Eagle Lake.

-NorState photo